THESE DAYS

THESE DAYS

I see G- D
In trees, birds, and bees

I hear him in
Music,
Hummed
Sung,
And drummed

I feel him in
Wind.
Rain,
And silent pain
I know him by name

These days I know no
Church,
Building programs,
Groups,
Or rules

I hear no call
Respond to no
Man,
Woman,
Pastor, deacon, bishop
At all, someone dropped the ball

I feel no
Guilt,
Burden or
Tug to conform to a plan
I’m delivered from man

These days
I see rocks thrown
At armored trucks
Bomb strapped children
Climbing into a bus

I hear deafening
Groans,
Moans from gaping mouths
And mothers silent screams
It isn’t a dream

I feel hearts
Bleeding from
Nails,
Screws,
Bolts and
Bodies ground to the bone

These days
I see running
To and fro
with nowhere to go

I hear
War cries to
The slaughter of
Oursons and daughters

I feel
Angry,
Sad and
Denied a voice
To make a choice

I know the hook has caught
The jaw and
The camel has fallen
Under the last straw

These days
Someday is
Today
Last days
Coming to pass days

Selah

THESE DAYS

Leave a Reply

